Being stupid, and the problem of not knowing this

Don’t know where or how it all starts but it ends with “everyone has his/her own opinions” or the more trendy nowadays is “this might be your AAPtard logic / here comes the illogical bhakts with their Trishul”.  I am not sure or have any inclination to who is right or wrong. It is same like those days when the people acted knowledgeable and experienced enough to advise Tendulkar on how he could have played the delivery and on what position should one be coming for batting. Now these Cricket Gurus have been kind of replaced by those adamant Politics and Economist advisors who fill up your FB wall with their suffocating “Logical” comments of any new policy or act coming up. I also have a thought that these are the ones who share those Patriotic posts and pictures to show how much they love their country (And there is one more breed who in their life have never cracked CAT or any other aptitude test but will post those stupid 2nd grade puzzles on FB and LinkedIn). Well it is great nowadays one don’t have to go through those cumbersome declarations of the new 5 year plan and those budget analysis published by reliable/knowledgeable sources like CRISIL, etc. , because now the experts (your dumb friend, or even the guy sitting next to your cubicle picking his nose) will pour their version( crap) on your wall.

Mournfully it is all a race of getting admired and the best KPI for this is ‘who gets the most likes/comments for his post’. I have great admiration for people who voluntarily are not on these social networking sites and also for those who are just there like peeping toms hunting for beautiful pics of girls. Now it is not about being on the right side but it is about being on the winning side, and this behavior is making people what in my most decent language would say STUPID.  People have lost the power of listening, let me state an example if I say that Dhoni is the best captain India has ever produced, and give stats of the number of world cups won and other accolades he has achieved who no other one has till now. But I know I am not a cricket enthusiast and have absolutely no knowledge of it, have played gully cricket though and passing the leather ball from outside the boundary is the closest I have been to an actual match. But when n number of critics tell me about the greatness of Ganguly and what his role in building the team was, logically I have no other option as the numbers which I have used or these awards and trophies could be deceiving (Even we don’t consider the topper of the class as the best guy) and the actual or the reality comes up when you watch and follow closely.

Coming back to the topic, as I have told earlier I still have no inclination to all the circus going around. But I am concerned about myself as the people surrounding me are getting absorbed in this quicksand. This is how a conversation goes nowadays.

So let us see if the discussion is on what is the best Indian movie? Or if someone just said “Bahubali the best movie ever”.

Mr. A: hey it was entertaining but not the best I would say

Mr. B: It is the top grossing movie till now check the collection dude

Mr. C: Bro Dabangg was the one who came up with the trend of the 100 crore club, this Bahubali is just another south Indian crap, sala 300 se copy kia h sab

Mr. D: Bahubali was okay but speaking of the grandeur of the movie I still believe no one could surpass the magnificence of Mughal-e-Azam, and speaking of numbers I think you guys have missed school because Mughal-e-Azam is the highest grossing movie when inflation is taken into account.

Mr. E: I think that the greatest director was Satyajit Ray and the best movie is Pather Panchali, and you can google it too it is in the favorite list of great foreign directors and movie critics.

Mr. F: Dude I have watched his black & white boring movies, how could you even sit through them

Mr. G: Satyajit Ray was acclaimed but he was inspired from that French movie “Bicycle Thieves”, his movies were kind of copied you can’t give him credit

Mr. H: There is no point discussing this as the poll conducted by CNN, Malayalam movie Mayabazar was voted the best movie ever made.

Mr. I: dude these voting and these media is all paid. I am a Malayali and even I don’t know about this movie. Dude watch Drishyam that is the best.

Mr. J: Drishyam is copied 😛

Mr. I: Duffer I am taking about the Malayalam movie, not you stupid Ajay Devgan shitt. You North Indians don’t have brains and copy all our movies. Malayalam movies rockkks

Mr. J: Sorry Dude even that is copied 😛 😛 ..from some Korean or Japanese film.

.

.

.

And as always it is on you to decide which the best movie among these is. If I had no idea about these movies I would agree to a person who had the most logical comment. Because everyone has the freedom of speech and can have any opinion or belief, but the logic put forth behind that decides whether that person is stupid or not.

Some random day…..

Mr. X: Is Bahubali the highest grossing movie?

Mr. C: No, if accounting inflation it is Mughal-e-Azam

Mr. Y: No man check your stats, if accounting inflation it will be Sholay

.

.

And even if one has figured out who is the most logical one he has to know are the facts on these conversations correct.

So as I was saying such conversations you will easily find on Facebook or even in your group over a cup of coffee or like this in any blog. But it is on you to decide what you trust or not what seems more logical and there is no harm in going against on a belief you once had as that is not being stupid it shows one is not adamant, even great scholars once thought that the earth is flat.

Leave a comment